To know God and to make Him known.

Public Forums • Teaching, Learning and the Classical Model • how do you like the CC app?

48 replies [ 0 new ] [ Last post ]
kristin0713
Offline
Last seen: 5 months 6 days ago
Joined: 08/05/2014
Posts: 1
how do you like the CC app?

Does it run well or is it slow and buggy?  Does it have the songs for anything, or just visual aids for memory work?  I'm specifically wondering about the history sentence songs and math.  It is pretty pricey and there is not enough of a preview for me to tell if it would be worth it or not. 

Sarahhayden
Offline
Last seen: 7 months 1 day ago
Joined: 08/13/2014
Posts: 0
The CC app has worked well for our family. It is basically the same content that you'd find on the CC Memory Work CD's, with the addition of visual aids. I can't remember it ever crashing while I was using it. It has the history sentences and songs, along with the skip counting songs. The geography part of the app was probably my favorite (most helpful to me) because it labeled all of the memory work at the same time as the speaker spoke the locations. So for things that may be a little fuzzy/too close/unclear, this was a huge help.   I tutored this year and used the app to preview each week's work as I prepared my tutoring materials. As a mom and tutor that is a visual learner, this was an invaluable resource. I highly recommend that you give it a shot, especially if you or one of your children learn best through visual/auditory means.   I hope this helps!  :)
debperry
Offline
Last seen: 10 months 19 hours ago
Joined: 08/02/2014
Posts: 0
How do I get the app ?
pennyash
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 2 months ago
Joined: 06/20/2015
Posts: 0
Hello debperry, you can download the app from the apple app store. Currently the app is only available for apple products. I hope they also get one for android. We love the app and that is what brought us to CC...:) Hope this helps...
dwetlaufer
Offline
Last seen: 4 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 08/03/2015
Posts: 0
They have apps for the iPhone and iPad here: https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/classical-conversations/id501527695
FelishaT
Offline
Last seen: 5 hours 49 min ago
Joined: 08/07/2014
Posts: 0
My family enjoys the app and we have it on everyone's devices. I love the Science and History snippets included. I do wish they would include the Timeline song on it, however.
CindyHowe
Offline
Last seen: 5 days 4 hours ago
Joined: 08/17/2014
Posts: 0
My family LOVES the app and so do I. Totally worth it.
CristenTao
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 19 hours ago
Joined: 08/30/2014
Posts: 0
I and my children have found the app useful. But for the money, the most expensive app I have purchased to date, I would love to see it have a section of interactive game review. For example, match dates to the timeline, or match the science to the pictures, or put mixed up order in place, or fill in the blank, or name what comes next, or drag and pull the latin to the correct tense or drop names to a map. At the very least an opportunity for the user to have the map light up without the answer. This could be way more interactive!
FDModerator1
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 6 hours ago
Joined: 05/23/2014
Posts: 7
Those are great ideas!  Feel free to pass them along to customerservice@classicalconversations.com Blessings, Foundations Academic Advisor Team
Hertlerherd
Offline
Last seen: 2 weeks 3 days ago
Joined: 05/29/2015
Posts: 0
Hi, I was curious if I can download the cc app and then use it without access to the Internet? Thanks
FDModerator1
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 6 hours ago
Joined: 05/23/2014
Posts: 7
Greetings Hertlerherd, Yes, you can use the CC app without access to the internet.   Blessings,  Foundations Academic Advisor Team
esnowboo
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 months ago
Joined: 11/16/2016
Posts: 0
Hi pennyash, I would like to wodnload the app as well, how much it cost? It is expensive?
DinaLavey
Offline
Last seen: 6 days 1 hour ago
Joined: 09/03/2014
Posts: 0
Agree _ Love but want Timeline song on there!! Thank you!
jenhorsfall
Offline
Last seen: 4 days 15 hours ago
Joined: 06/03/2015
Posts: 0
Love the app with the exceptions of the missing timeline song and Bible memory work.  Add those two things and it would be incredible!
atlantamonica
Offline
Last seen: 9 months 4 weeks ago
Joined: 07/02/2016
Posts: 0
yes - especially for the cost the timeline songs definely should have been included!
ccbillishomesch...
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 06/15/2015
Posts: 0
It is great!  I have, just this year, found out about the "History Highlights" and how one can click on it to open a page of history reading.  This would have been a bonus to be able to print that page out but we do fine using our devices!  Julie, Milton, ON, CANADA
shannonko
Offline
Last seen: 5 months 2 days ago
Joined: 07/18/2016
Posts: 0
is there a cc app for android phones now?  
Jeanlee23
Offline
Last seen: 9 months 4 days ago
Joined: 01/26/2017
Posts: 0
I just downloaded the app, I agree it is pretty pricey, but it's very functional and helpful. Especially since we are new to CC, this is a very good resource.
WhitefishOwens
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 01/12/2017
Posts: 0
We love the app.  We only wish you had the Timeline Song on the app.  Then we'd have everything we need.
jlhuddleston5
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 05/31/2016
Posts: 0
I love the app in my IPhone. However, I really missed the Timeline song, as I would have to play it off of the website. That is very inconvenient. I also would like to have the songs for geography included too. It was a little disappointing to my children to hear them in class not on the app.  Bible memory work would be great too. I will buy it again for cycle 3 because overall it is convenient to have it on my phone for review.
KB4HIM
Offline
Last seen: 5 days 3 hours ago
Joined: 01/01/2015
Posts: 0
App is great except it needs to incude the timeline song!!!
FDModerator2
Offline
Last seen: 4 days 20 hours ago
Joined: 04/19/2016
Posts: 24
Greetings, All!   We're glad to see that you are enjoying the app! I see that some of you have ideas or things that you'd like to see included in this resource. We want to encourage you that the best way to be "heard" is to contact customerservice@classicalconversations.com.   Blessings, Foundations AA Team
MommaBare
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 22 hours ago
Joined: 08/27/2014
Posts: 0
When you purchase the ap, can you put it on multiple devises? (your phone and your childs tables for example?)  
FDModerator2
Offline
Last seen: 4 days 20 hours ago
Joined: 04/19/2016
Posts: 24
Greetings, MommaBare!   The app can be used on multiple devices as long as they are all connected to the same account. i.e. iTunes   Blessings, Foundations AA Team
IsaacsMom
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 05/02/2015
Posts: 0
We got the  cycle 2 app for our son's Kindle, and we loved it.  But it DOES need the timeline song.  We're looking forward to the Cycle 3 app being made available on Amazon.
mama2gals
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 38 min ago
Joined: 01/17/2017
Posts: 0
Once the app is purchased, will it be updated with the newest guide edition to be used in the future once cycle 3 rolls around again?  
Rubiy
Offline
Last seen: 4 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 07/11/2016
Posts: 0
It's a relatively simple meld of the songs and some text.  Frankly, it's an outrageous price for such a thing.  Especially since you must purchase a new one each cycle.  We didn't use it nearly as much as we thought we would.  Between the price of the CDs, the price of the memory and "acts & facts" cards, most CC parents I've spoken to, as well as myself, are feeling squeezed well past the point of comfort to pay for anything additional from CC.  Moreso as the Timeline song is not included.  It seems like an unnecessary money grab when we need to buy every additional aid in order to get a complete set of the memory work.    
FDModerator2
Offline
Last seen: 4 days 20 hours ago
Joined: 04/19/2016
Posts: 24
Greetings, mama2gals!   At this time, only the Cycle 1 app will be updated with the 5th Edition content.   Blessings, Foundations AA Team
dparrington
Offline
Last seen: 2 weeks 1 day ago
Joined: 05/23/2016
Posts: 0
I purchased the app for Cycle 2 using the Android platform.  Unfortunately, we were only able to open it a handful of times.  Nearly every time we tried to open it, it would lock up and give an error report.  I finally gave up and deleted it.  IF it worked properly, I honestly think we would have used it several times a week.  It would have been a great way to review in the car, etc. 
FDModerator2
Offline
Last seen: 4 days 20 hours ago
Joined: 04/19/2016
Posts: 24
Greetings, dparrington!   We are SO sorry to hear that you had trouble with you Cycle 2 app last year. If you have trouble in the future with any of the tech resources we offer, we'd encourage you to contact customerservice@classicalconversations.com. We want to partner with you to ensure that you're getting the most out of the resources offered! Please don't hesitate to reach out if you find yourself in a similar situation again.   Blessings, Foundations AA Team
pdunlap
Offline
Last seen: 5 days 22 hours ago
Joined: 04/27/2016
Posts: 0
serenamann
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 1 day ago
Joined: 04/06/2016
Posts: 0
We had Cycle 2 app (android).  Now we cannot find Cycle 3 app.... is this because they don't have it ready for androids yet?  
StephanieWatkins
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 17 hours ago
Joined: 04/03/2016
Posts: 0
I agree. It's a good tool but if it had the weekly segments of the Timeline song then the value would increase tremendously.
darlene134011
Offline
Last seen: 4 days 8 hours ago
Joined: 05/25/2017
Posts: 0
As a new CC family, I had wondered how the app and CDs differ.  We purchased the app and now, after attending the first week, I'm even more currious.  Reading through this thread, is it safe to say the CDs would still be a beneficial purchase?  
heatherlynn40
Offline
Last seen: 4 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 05/06/2015
Posts: 0
i was also wondering the same thing since i have an android..  i would like to purchase it but its not in the play store. only cycle 2 is. 
tropicalserenity
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 6 days ago
Joined: 07/05/2017
Posts: 0
Are there any plans to ADD the timeline song? I see many moms like me thinking it should be on there and don't see any responses about if it ever will.... is there talk of such a thing? Thanks!  
FDModerator2
Offline
Last seen: 4 days 20 hours ago
Joined: 04/19/2016
Posts: 24
Greetings, All!   Some of these are great questions and since the Academic Team does not work directly with the app, we would invite you to contact customerservice@classicalconversations.com with any questions you may have about the release or the content included. They would be more than happy to answer your question or direct you to someone who can.    Blessings, Foundations AA Team
cheleybeley
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 2 hours ago
Joined: 07/11/2017
Posts: 0
I wish it was compatible with tablets, it only allowed me to download it to my phone. I was hoping it would be just like cc conncected just an ap version, but there is only memory work, no songs or extras like cc conncected. Its spendy for an app that only has 1 cycle at a time memory work
EHaralamos
Offline
Last seen: 2 weeks 20 hours ago
Joined: 08/23/2017
Posts: 0
The app is great, but it does not have the songs for every subject.  On mine, the only subject that includes the memory work as song is math, skip counting.  All the rest have the memory work, printed and spoken.  It is helpful for us to have for review, but I wish it had all the songs.   I bought the app for $17 so I wouldn't have to buy the parent guide right before the new edition next year.  
Goodman08
Offline
Last seen: 4 months 1 week ago
Joined: 07/06/2016
Posts: 0
We loved the app for Cycle 2! Worth every penny! However, I'm really disappointed that the app for Cycle 3 isn't available until October. They obviously know school starts in August...
FDModerator2
Offline
Last seen: 4 days 20 hours ago
Joined: 04/19/2016
Posts: 24
Greetings, Goodman08!   The Cycle 3 app is actually available now, so the wait is over! Hope you enjoy it!!   Blessings, Foundations AA Team
transter99
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 week ago
Joined: 08/19/2017
Posts: 0
Kristin, I am still having a hard time to order the cc app. Can you help me to get the app? Thank you, Karen
Denas4israel
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 6 hours ago
Joined: 06/22/2017
Posts: 0
The app needs the timeline song while showing the cards. YouTube had a perfect one that we enjoyed so much but it got pulled. Can that be added? Thanks.
FDModerator2
Offline
Last seen: 4 days 20 hours ago
Joined: 04/19/2016
Posts: 24
Greetings! Thanks for sharing your ideas on how the resources could better help your family! We want to encourage you to contact customer service with your requests at customerservice@classicalconversations.com. Blessings, Foundations AA Team
wisej78
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 6 days ago
Joined: 04/28/2015
Posts: 0
PLEASE add the timeline song, preposition song, states and capitals song, .... I could use this app daily if it had the resources we needed. We would become so much more efficient in our review time! Thanks for asking for input. Janelle
FDModerator2
Offline
Last seen: 4 days 20 hours ago
Joined: 04/19/2016
Posts: 24
Greetings, Janelle! We are glad to hear from you regarding the needs you have as a family and how we could best partner with you in that endeavor. It is the heart of CC to come alongside families to offer support and encouragement in their classical homeschooling journeys. The Academic Advisory Team does not work directly with the app as our focus is more academics, but we would invite you to reach out to customerservice@classicalconversations.com to express your ideas. Blessings, Foundations AA Team
Greensourced
Offline
Last seen: 19 hours 35 min ago
Joined: 05/29/2017
Posts: 0
We love it! My only request is please please please upload the timeline song to it!!!!
Greensourced
Offline
Last seen: 19 hours 35 min ago
Joined: 05/29/2017
Posts: 0
Wait, you asked "what do you think of the app" and this woman's comments are spot on. Then you ask us to post and respond in another place?